Pleased to make your acquaintance, Blog-Friend

Hello!

How are you? I’m well, thank you. Formalities aside, here’s a brief intro to me!

 

I was born and raised in Pictou Nova Scotia, a town of ~3000 people. It’s on the north shore of the province – if you want to get to PEI by ferry you go through Pictou!

The stunning Maritime provinces. NB and NS are cropped, PEI is not. It's hard not to fit PEI in a single screenshot.

The stunning Maritime provinces. NB and NS are cropped, PEI is not. It’s hard not to fit PEI in a single screenshot.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

You may also know it as the filming location for Mr. D. They gotta make money in the summer when they're not bringing in tuition.(Photo Source)

You may also know it as the filming location for Mr. D. They gotta make money in the summer when they’re not bringing in tuition.(Photo Source: Chronicle Herald)

 

 

I did my first degree at the University of King’s College in Halifax NS. I completed a Bachelor of Science, major in Math, in 2013. As a liberal arts college, my experience there really helped guide me into pairing Math and English as my education major and minor.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Although I’ve taken a hiatus during my school years at University of Regina (I wanted to be able to focus on my degree) I am a reservist with the Royal Canadian Navy. Specifically, I’m a member of COATS (Cadet Organizations Administration and Training Service). What that means is, as a Canadian Forces officer, I work to train sea cadets, aged 12-18; four general focal areas are citizenship, leadership, instructional technique, and physical fitness.

As a speciality, I’ve trained as a sailing instructor. Every summer since 2009 (including my years in Regina) I’ve work aboard HMCS ACADIA in Digby Nova Scotia to deliver their sail training program. Since 2013 I’ve been a Learning Facilitator with Sail Canada, allowing me to train and develop sailors who want to learn how to coach the sport.

Coaching out of Shearwater Nautical Centre, near Halifax

Coaching out of Shearwater Nautical Centre, near Halifax

My pal, Capt Nicholas Foran (Lt at the time, for those paying attention) and I in downtown Halifax

My pal, Captain Nicholas Foran (Lieutenant at the time, for those paying attention) and I in downtown Halifax

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

More specific to ECMP 355, here are my top thoughts on Edtech:

  1. Get over yourself. Technology is here, it’s part of life for both youth and adults in Canada. Sticking your head in the sand won’t change that.
  2. Technology has inherent risks, and potentially high rewards. Since it’s part of modern life, education should teach best practices around it, the same as we do for relationships, sports, and other activities on the risk-return spectrum. See point 1, and stop ostriching.
  3. Technology does not automatically make all previous innovations and techniques obsolete. Incorporating tech for the purpose of incorporating tech is a disservice to your students, and just because you have tablets doesn’t mean you can skip forming relationships.
  4. You will not be the technology subject matter expert in your classroom for long, if ever. Accept that now and make it part of your continuous learning. Walk-the-talk on lifelong learning, lead from the front, and show your students how to be an engaged amateur.

Connect with me here at WordPress or on Twitter. Always happy to chat.

Share your thoughts

