Learning Project: Repurposing Kitchen Scraps

My first step in this learning project was to stop tossing usable food scraps in the garbage. So I started freezing them. Once I had enough wilted celery, carrot ends, and assorted vegetable detritus, I threw them and a couple chicken carcasses in water to boil.

Frozen scraps ready to be boiled

Frozen scraps ready to be boiled

 

After a couple hours of simmering. Apparently, if you never let it reach the boil, you get a clearer broth. I did not follow this advice.

After a couple hours of simmering. Apparently, if you never let it reach the boil, you get a clearer broth. I did not follow this advice.

Here comes the gross part. I had to strain and keep all the delicious broth and get rid of the now much less nutritious veggies and bones.

Bones and scraps and fats oh my!

Bones and scraps and fats oh my!

IMG_20160124_182546390

Two large bowls of roughly strained broth

Sometimes you don't own a fine meshed colander. When that happens, you make do with a loose tea strainer.

Sometimes you don’t own a fine meshed colander. When that happens, you make do with a loose tea strainer.

The grosser parts disposed of, this broth is ready for fresh vegetables to make into a soup. Also, since there’s a whole lot of it, I needed a way to store the soup. Luckily, mason jars are the (hipster?) solution to everything!

So much tastier than the wilted, frozen veggies.

So much tastier than the wilted, frozen veggies.

Cleaned up and ready to go

Cleaned up and ready to go

The outcome. There was more than this, but I ate a bowl and gave a few jars away.

The outcome. There was more than this, but I ate a bowl and gave a few jars away before I managed to pull out my camera.

I’m going to score the efficacy of each element of my learning project:

Difficulty: low

Cost: low

Time: moderate (3-4 hours)

Pros: Didn’t throw out nearly as many scraps for a few weeks. Got several delicious and healthful meals out of it

Cons: Apartment smelled like soup for awhile.

Future Implementation: Absolutely. I’ll need to adjust a bit though. Maybe do a pure vegetarian stock, or a beef. I’m kinda tired of chicken soup.

One thought on “Learning Project: Repurposing Kitchen Scraps

  1. Pingback: Learning Project Conclusion | Zachary Sellers' Blog

Share your thoughts

