Inception Cooking Part I – Ketchup

This is the first  in a four part series on Inception Cooking. The first layer – making my own ketchup.

These are the ingredients needed. Except the lemon. That's just there.

These are the ingredients needed. Except the lemon. That’s just there.

The recipe called for a slow cooker. I had a pot. Same principle.

Mix it all up and simmer for a few hours

Mix it all up and simmer for a few hours

Recipe calls for straining it, after a quick immersion blend. I did so, but I don’t think it was worth the effort and mess.

I got this chunky stuff left over, but I think I could have pushed it through. Post-strain ketchup didn't seem much smoother than pre-strain.

I had this chunky stuff left over, but I think I could have pushed it through the colander. Post-strain ketchup didn’t seem much smoother than pre-strain.

Here’s the result:

IMG_20160304_183225626

From (R) to (L): Ketchup for the freezer, ketchup for the fridge, ketchup for Inception Cooking – Part II

Difficulty: low-medium (Takes frequent attention [on the stove], and messy to clean up)

Cost: low-medium (Have to buy a lot of spices if you don’t have them. Though fresh ingredients would also work)

Time: High (3-4 hours)

Pros: Quite tasty, less plastic, avoid high fructose corn syrup

Cons: Time consuming and messy

Future Implementation: Yes. Next time, probably a double batch and with a slow cooker. No need to strain. Maybe reduce sugar a little bit.

2 thoughts on “Inception Cooking Part I – Ketchup

  1. Pingback: Inception Cooking Part II – Barbecue Sauce | Zachary Sellers' Blog

  2. Pingback: Learning Project Conclusion | Zachary Sellers' Blog

Share your thoughts

