J. Kenji Lopez and Trusting People Online

Is that not the most beautiful hard-boiled egg you've ever seen?

Is that not the most beautiful hard-boiled egg you’ve ever seen? From JKL @ The Food Lab

When I began my learning project I said it was ill-defined but underway. I was, generally speaking, interested in reducing my waste and plastic consumption. As I’ve learned and experimented, I’ve become primarily focused on things I do in the kitchen. Specifically, I’ve made several condiments to avoid buying their plastic containers.

With almost every project, my first step is to google a recipe/idea/approach. What arises is an issue of trust.

Uhoh! I went on piratebay. Guess I better watch my back.

Uhoh! I went on Piratebay. Guess I better watch my back.

Do you see all the little skulls? It’s a ranking system Piratebay uses to tell leechers that a seeder can be trusted. It’s the same idea (different security principle though) as when your banking website puts one of these – 1– next to your url. It’s a visual reminder to say: “Hey, you’re among friends here. All is well.”

Building trust in online spaces is very important for continued patronage. So it is with me and finding people I trust for my Learning Project. Which brings us to J. Kenji Lopez.

JKL Looking Dapper

JKL Looking Dapper – from The Burger Lab

I was first introduced to this chef by my brother, and I was skeptical. However, in an article on proper (curled) pepperoni for a pizza he said:

There are times when I’ll head into a bog-standard New York slice joint, see those pre-cooked squares with their flat disks of pepperoni, watch some poor sap order them, and think to myself: Ah, you’ve fallen victim to one of the two classic blunders, the most famous of which is “never question your pizza toppings in Asia,” but only slightly less well known is this: “Never order a Sicilian when you spy flat-laying pepperoni on the line.”

Anyone who can so tactfully paraphrase The Princess Bride is doing just fine in my books.

JKL’s use of humour brought me in, and his excellence as a chef keeps bringing me back. He’s managed to earn my trust in an online space, and that makes my learning easier – I have a routine, and a place I know that I can go for good information.

4 thoughts on “J. Kenji Lopez and Trusting People Online

  1. As a fellow Princess Bride fan, I must say that I really enjoyed this post.

    As I critically reflect on your post, I would say I have some trouble trusting others online. When we are asked to create numerous accounts or sign into an application using our full name, I will admit to feeling uncomfortable. I generally prefer to hide online if at all possible.

    Lydia wrote a post about cyber sleuthing in which she mentioned that she Googled her own name. I wondered, and I will ask you, would you prefer to have your blog, twitter, about.me profile show up in a Google search, or would you prefer an online search of your name give no results?

    Maybe I am the only one who feels uncomfortable sharing personal information online. Maybe I am not. I suppose we will find out.

    Like

  2. I didn’t know you were a fan! We’ll have to exchange lines sometime. My sister (embarrassingly? Epically?) can make it through most of the movie. (I also love the book, to be clear).

    I, almost entirely, refuse to sign into apps and services with my gmail account, or with my facebook account, or whatever they have on offer. The options do not make my life convenient – I feel they’re an invasion into my privacy. Websites do not need to be able to communicate their experiences with me.

    When I google my name, I like my twitter to show up, one or two photos, and nothing else. That way, if people know me, they’ll recognize me, or if they don’t know me, they’ll be uncertain which links are the real me. I don’t mind ambiguity. Currently, the first page of a google search mostly conforms to my preferences.

    As for sharing things online, I don’t mind my full name, though I often use unrelated usernames. Other personal info I often fake (DOB for instance. Random selection of date month year, that puts me over 19. Sites don’t need that kind of info).

    Like

  3. Pingback: Cleaning my Cast Iron Pan with Soap | Zachary Sellers' Blog

  4. Pingback: Learning Project Conclusion | Zachary Sellers' Blog

Share your thoughts

