Following Online Recipes

My Learning Project has been focused on reducing the waste and environmental damage of my household actions. A lot of my work has ended up focusing on creating my own condiments, to avoid the plastic of buying them. As a result, I’ve spent a lot of time perusing online recipes.

Here’s the big question (phrased as three separate questions – don’t be fooled!) when learning from online recipes:

  1. Do I follow the recipe verbatim?
  2. Do I make adjustments as my experience sees fit?
  3. Do I *shudder* read the comments and follow their advice?

Here’s what I’ve learned in my exploration:

  • If it’s a baking recipe, follow the directions fairly precisely.
  • If it’s cooking, make your own judgement calls.
  • If there’s sugar or salt, you can normally reduce it.
  • If the recipe calls for “no-salt butter” or “sweetener” ignore it and use regular butter and sugar.
  • Recipes often add adjectives, things like Kosher salt, Brand Name flour, or fresh basil. Just ignore the adjectives.*

The last third of the question is the killer. Do you listen to the comments? For an answer, please read this article. You won’t regret it.

All The Comments on Every Recipe Blog

 

*A bit of a joke here. Fresh and dried herbs are quite different. And Kosher food may well matter to you – it just doesn’t to me.

One thought on “Following Online Recipes

  1. Pingback: Learning Project Conclusion | Zachary Sellers' Blog

Share your thoughts

